Skip to main content

The South African Wushu Federation

International wushu federation

The International Wushu Federation (IWUF), which was established on October 3rd, 1990, is the international federation (IF) that governs wushu in all its forms world-wide. Currently, the IWUF has 158 national/territorial members, across 5 continents. The IWUF is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the sole worldwide governing authority for wushu in all its forms


The South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee is the National Olympic Committee and National Paralympic Committee for South Africa, and the responsible body for South Africa at the Commonwealth Games.

Traditional Wushu

Traditional Wushu (commonly referred to as kungfu) is the root of sport wushu and has a long and diverse history.

IWUF Taolu

Taolu refers to the set routine (form) practice component of wushu.


Sanda is a modern unarmed combat sport that developed from traditional wushu techniques